Clifton, hi合乐8手机版下载城, is a blend of historical homes and modern residences perched within the canyon of the meandering San Francisco River. 由于这个地理位置, Clifton is laid out in a linear fashion and has three distinct neighborhoods — South Clifton, East Clifton, 和蔡斯溪. (North Clifton used to be a major part of town, but the 1983 flood wiped it away.)

South Clifton

Here the valley is widest and permitted a substantial residential 邻里间穿插着 县法院 靠近街区东边的顶部. The Clifton High School complex, now closed but used for training by Freeport-McMoRan, Inc. (FMI),位于191号美国公路(科罗纳多大道)以西。.

Ward Canyon branches off to the east at the far south end of South Clifton. Get to Ward Canyon by exiting west off Coronado Boulevard (US 191), near MP 162. The road immediately U-turns under the US 191 overpass to head east up the canyon. 沃德峡谷路特色几个活动.  首先,要对曲线和坡度感到兴奋 开车上下峡谷的时候, but please obey posted speed limits as the turns are deceptive and the terrain is unforgiving. Also, take note of the various types and colors of the rock formations. Hike to the 马雷斯布拉夫老兵纪念碑Mulligan Peak,或许多 trails accessed around the estate communities of Loma Linda and Verde Lee just beyond the top of Ward Canyon.

East Clifton After you pass through the flood gates and cross the bridge over the San 弗朗西斯科·雷弗,你进入东克利夫顿. 河的西侧大部分是公路, train tracks, an RV park, 罗德旅馆汽车旅馆, 以及著名的克利夫顿火车站, 克利夫顿游客中心在哪里, 和美国退伍军人协会. 东边有一条主要街道, Park Avenue, 在那里可以找到蓝门圣殿, FMI招待所, soccer field, Splash Pad, 大多居住在峡谷壁上, 克利夫顿酒店, 和采矿铲显示.


FMI招待所, 原来是亚利桑那铜业公司经理之家, 是漂亮的工匠风格吗, 两层住宅. It is the largest and the most stylistically pure structure in Clifton.


采矿铲显示器 is a heavy-duty mechanical shovel that was state-of-the-art decades ago. It was installed by volunteers from the Morenci mine in the 1990’s. The shovel is situated in east Clifton adjacent to the Zorilla Street Bridge. Small by current standards, the shovel provides an insight to evolving copper mining

佐拉街大桥 spans the San Francisco River and connects Coronado Blvd (US 191) on the west side with Park Avenue on the east side. For a long time it was the only link between the east and west sides of town. It is a “through truss” bridge, built in 1918, and is listed on the U.S. 国家史迹名录. 它也被称为克利夫顿桥、莱利桥和公园大道桥.


历史悠久的铜头机车 & 克里夫顿克里夫监狱 are both must-see attractions while exploring the Clifton Historic District. This Coronado Railroad locomotive sits next to the 克里夫顿克里夫监狱 on Coronado Boulevard (US 191). This Porter steam locomotive became the first operational railroad in Arizona and hauled ore from mines around Morenci and Metcalf in the mountains above to the smelter near where Chase Creek met the river. The locomotive was brought to Clifton in parts by wagon train and reassembled. 克里夫顿克里夫监狱, 原来的镇监狱, was blasted from solid rock and built into the side of the cliff in 1881. 它现在是克利夫顿历史街区的一部分. It is the most unique incarceration facility in the United States. Visitors can enter either of the two cells to experience the conditions of Old West justice.

克利夫顿火车站 & 游客中心 is the best stop for information while exploring Clifton and the surrounding area. 位于克利夫顿中心的历史火车站, friendly volunteers will provide you with a list of places to see, things to do and other valuable information so you can make the most of your visit. The Historic 克利夫顿火车站 was built in the 1910’s and is still an iconic piece of architecture today. Plan a visit to this beautiful historical site which is now the Arizona Office of Tourism site in Greenlee County. 开放时间为星期一至星期六,上午十时至下午二时. 克利夫顿,北科罗纳多大道100号. 欲了解更多信息,请致电游客中心(928)865-3313.


大角羊悬崖上的优雅, 克利夫顿-莫伦西的丘陵和山脉, 由亚利桑那州渔猎局提供. 野羊正在向周围的栖息地扩张, 自然地在hi合乐8手机版下载地区游荡. Effortlessly scaling the seemingly impossible sheer cliffs in search of feed along the roads, 羊是拍照的好机会, 通常不用离开你的车. 睁大眼睛, 他们在附近的悬崖上混在一起, they appear as if out of nowhere and are fond of overseeing local outdoor events.

三英里是 Potter Ranch, a historic ranch house built in 1901 that is now listed on the National Register of Historic Homes. 西班牙传教复兴风格的家, 戴尔·波特, 一位早期的矿业企业家, 直到2019年才离开波特家族. 今天它是一个私人住宅. Located at 502 Potter Ranch Lane, it is about 2 miles north of the North Clifton RV Park. Cross the Polly Rosenbaum Bridge north of the RV Park and continue along the unpaved San Francisco River Rd. 从旧金山河路看房子.

Chase Creek
As Coronado Blvd turns west between the small rock butte and the cliffs, you enter Chase Creek. 这里是蔡斯克里克历史区, the Circle K, Post Office, Town Hall, 几家企业, 还有很多住宅.

蔡斯溪历史区 and its encompassing buildings were constructed along the narrow Chase Creek. 有了水, a railroad, 还有冶炼厂, 克利夫顿迅速发展成为矿区的主要枢纽. Clifton and its Chase Creek Street quickly earned an unsavory reputation as one of the wildest camps in the West, 仅次于墓碑镇. After fires in the early 1900’s destroyed many of the wooden buildings, 所有的建筑都是用砖建造的, generally in the neoclassical style referred to as Territorial architecture in Arizona. Explore the delightful shops and amazing buildings of the 蔡斯溪历史区 and experience its everlasting charm.  蔡斯溪上的拱门孤零零地矗立着,经常让游客感到困惑. They are the remnants of the Lyric Theater, destroyed by fire in the 1960’s. In its day the Lyric offered entertainment to the gentle population, 还有那些同样光顾24小时酒吧的粗犷矿工, 赌博大厅, and bordellos.  The Greenlee County Historical Museum on Chase Creek St offers pamphlets for a walking tour of this street, 或者在你的移动设备上拷贝电子版, visit 然后选择“See And Do”和“Chase Creek Historic Walking Tour”.’


格林里历史博物馆 在克利夫顿的蔡斯克里克历史区, hosts exhibits under the direction of the Greenlee County Historical Society. 建筑本身, 古典建筑的典范, 在国家登记册上, 由斯佩齐亚兄弟于1913年建造, 并开始了它作为仓库的历史. 这个博物馆展示了丰富的hi合乐8手机版下载历史, 包括印第安人的文物, 亚利桑那领土历史, but  foremost it features the early mining days of the Clifton-Morenci Mining District. Admission is free to the public, and the building is handicapped-accessible. 位于蔡斯克里克街299号. Museum currently open from 2:00pm – 4:30pm on Thursday and 10:00am – 4:30pm on Saturday, or for a visit during other days/times call Joe (928) 215-0829 or Linda (928) 965-2463